VM2 won't start (Win10, Cubase 10) (Resolved)

Post Reply
c0nan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 8:01 am

VM2 won't start (Win10, Cubase 10) (Resolved)

Post by c0nan » Thu May 21, 2020 8:13 am

Hi,

I contacted support but only received the "we're working on a MAC update"-response, which doesn't really help me since I'm on windows :ugeek: So maybe someone on here had similar issues and can help me out. I'll just copy my support mail:

---
Hi, first of all thanks for the great upgrade. Unfortunately VM2 won't start. I went through the upgrade process. That didn't work, so I uninstalled und installed the new version manually. The standalone app doesn't do anything on Win10 (which is uptodate). It doesn't even appear in the Task Manager. VST3 causes a 'serious error' message in Cubase 10 (please see attached file for CrashDump), VST2 gets blacklisted and can't be reactivated. I installed and started the program as administrator. I cleaned the registry after the 2nd uninstall. No success either way. Went back to VM1 and that one works. Help would be appreciated. Thank you. Cubase 10.0.60, Win10, i5 4590, 16GB RAM, 1050GTX
---

Sooo, is anyone familiar with that behaviour?

sincostan
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:11 pm

Re: VM2 won't start (Win10, Cubase 10)

Post by sincostan » Thu May 21, 2020 10:22 am

Same problem. V2 doesn't start. Even not in Standalone mode in Win10. Would love to hear a workaround. So eager to try it!

sincostan
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:11 pm

Re: VM2 won't start (Win10, Cubase 10)

Post by sincostan » Thu May 21, 2020 10:30 am

I had a look at the VM files and found log files that said that something is not found in the preset folder. I deleted the whole C:\Users\'name'\AppData\Roaming\Voltage folder and installed it again. Now it's starting.

Seems like that some leftover from VM1 created the problem.

c0nan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 8:01 am

Re: VM2 won't start (Win10, Cubase 10)

Post by c0nan » Thu May 21, 2020 11:52 am

Man, you made my day! Everything seems to be working now. Well, except for the little button that should switch the view of the gear column. That one is crashing the programm. I think I read about that issue on KVR. Anyway, thanks a lot. Gotta start fiddling now :mrgreen:

sincostan
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:11 pm

Re: VM2 won't start (Win10, Cubase 10)

Post by sincostan » Thu May 21, 2020 12:31 pm

great 8-)

Cherry Garcia
Site Admin
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:57 am

Re: VM2 won't start (Win10, Cubase 10)

Post by Cherry Garcia » Thu May 21, 2020 1:38 pm

We're pretty sure we've fixed this crash for the upcoming build. Were you in spreadsheet / table view in the Library? This would explain things.

c0nan
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 8:01 am

Re: VM2 won't start (Win10, Cubase 10)

Post by c0nan » Fri May 22, 2020 8:06 pm

It was the default setting with the columns spread. But yes, it's working with the new update now. Thanks :)

Post Reply