First time release questions

borkman

First time release questions

Post by borkman »

As I write docs and polish up a few modules for my first release, I 'd like to ask a few questions of the more experienced folks here who'd like to share their wisdom and knowledge.

1. Do you engage users to test or do it all yourself? I've been testing as I go and will do more comprehensive testing before I release, but as a software developer for 30+ years, I understand the value of getting other eyes on it. I'm new to VM and somewhat new to modular systems, so I might be making mistakes that are obvious to others but not to me. It wouldn't be the first time!

2. How do I get a forum? I realize it may be a bit premature, but it'd be nice to have it in place before I put anything out so there is an obvious place to communicate.

3. Any gotchas or things you'd like to share from your first, or later, experiences releasing modules?

I appreciate your thoughts.
seal58

Re: First time release questions

Post by seal58 »

Hi,

for complex modules it might be helpful to invite users to act as beta testers. For that case manufacturers product page in Nebula offers button "put in beta".

Before you can invite beta testers of course you need a forum area. Please contact CA support team. They will create a forum area with your manufacturer's name.

Before you submit a product for approval, the product should be fully testet. As approval CA checks whether product meets all functions as described in the doc file.
When approval was succesful you can publish the product. Then it will be seen in CA store for all other users.
utdgrant

Post by utdgrant »

Welcome to the world of development, borkman!

1. The first couple of bundles I released (Dome Music Technologies), I did all my own testing. Further down the line, I got a couple of close friends to agree to be beta-testers. I valued their opinions and knew they wouldn't complain for the sake of it.