A Year of Dome Music Technologies

utdgrant

A Year of Dome Music Technologies

Post by utdgrant »

The first Dome Music Technologies product to hit the CA Store was the RAT Pack Bundle, on 8th March 2022. I thought the anniversary would be a good point to reflect on my experiences as a developer over the past year.

I'm going to write a multi-part blog post about this over the next few days and I hope you'll indulge me. It will definitely be of most interest to other developers (like those who hang around in the Module Designer forum). However, it could be an amusing insight for VM users, too. I hope you can take something away from it, anyhow.

Part 1 - Beginnings With Voltage Module Designer

I downloaded the Voltage Module Designer development kit in early Jan 2022. I wanted to see how easy or difficult it would be to work within the development environment and to see if I was cut out for developing real-time audio DSP code. I’ve been a professional software engineer all my working life (~35 years), working mostly in real-time and embedded applications, so I was better placed than for example an SQL developer or someone who works in financial programming. My language of choice is C, with C++ in a close second-place, so Java was very familiar in terms of syntax and underlying concepts (particularly with C++). That side of things wasn’t a problem at all.

The actual VMD development environment is pretty friendly, and presents you with a good set of tools specifically tailored to creating VM modules. Installation is pretty straightforward - even grabbing and installing the OpenJDK Java environment is easy if you follow the instructions carefully.

There aren’t many YouTube tutorials about working with VMD. In fact, at the time, I could only find the original Cherry Audio one presented by Dan Goldstein. More recently the Aaron Lanterman one appeared.