Market size

poetix

Market size

Post by poetix »

So I’m guessing that for most if not all module manufacturers it’s a hobby or a side-hustle rather than a day job…

But I’m curious. What’s the size of the market for VM modules? What does a good month for sales look like for a must-have module or bundle? Is it worth putting significant effort into marketing and promotion?

I’m very happy that Vulpus Labs has sold just under 150 units in three months, grossing just over $1k - but are those n00b numbers? For those who’ve been doing it for longer: is it sustainable? Do you find you need to be constantly releasing new things, or do the top-sellers just keep ticking over? I guess it depends on the wider picture of VM adoption, and also on the quality and reputation of the modules themselves.
London, UK
Developer, Vulpus Labs
Musician, w/trem
utdgrant

Re: Market size

Post by utdgrant »

I've been a professional software engineer for the past 35 years, but VM development is 100% a hobby.
For me, it was simply a case of making the modules I wanted for my own use, but which didn't exist in the store already.

Once created, I figured that as I already had something which I found useful, then it could be useful for other users, too.
Any sales, no matter how small, would be a very welcome bonus to compensate for the hours / days / weeks of R&D time. :lol:

It's almost exactly a year since I placed my first bundle in the store (8th March 2022), and here are the latest totals:
DomeMusicTechnologiesSales.png
DomeMusicTechnologiesSales.png (48.75 KiB) Viewed 1704 times
The Audio Computing Engine was the biggest surprise! I honestly thought it would generate next to zero interest, but it has been a consistent seller every month. Perhaps it's a value-for-money thing (9 modules for $5) or maybe people really do get as much pleasure from it as I do. Haven't a clue, I'm afraid!