Wind sounds like Mutable Instruments Rings?

For discussion of the Voltage Modular synthesis ecosystem.
Demious

Wind sounds like Mutable Instruments Rings?

Post by Demious »

Im pretty new to this and not very familliar with the modules yet, so I hope someone can help me find the right module or combination of.
At a friends place Ive been playing around with the Mutable Instruments Rings and by sending some white noise into it, I got some very nice wind sounds Id like to recreate with my Voltage synth. Is there a Rings-like module for Voltage that can produce similar effects?
Steve W

Re: Wind sounds like Mutable Instruments Rings?

Post by Steve W »

I have seen Mutable Instruments in passing (years ago) and have no idea what Rings does. But, I have it in my head to try to re-create the sound of an old hardware synth from 1988-1991. My first step was to go back to the manual to grab the block diagram. Now I am starting to look for VM modules to start a preliminary model of the synth.

Not sure if anyone has done this kind of thing with Rings.

PS: I just looked up Rings and haven't found either a schematic or a block diagram. The face plate doesn't reveal much that would help re-create it. I did find this statement:
It has to be said, this module is pretty unique, with the closest units with any resemblance being Comb Filter-based designs.
Other than the description here: https://mutable-instruments.net/modules/rings/manual/ I haven't been able to find much info about how Rings works. Good luck with trying to re-create that. I suspect you will have to use your ears. Maybe if you record some samples of the sounds others can help with suggestions.

New: Just found this https://mutable-instruments.net/modules ... en_source/. Not sure it will help you re-create the sound of Rings, though. But, maybe others here can look and make some suggestions.
Demious

Post by Demious »