Is midi clock sync output broken on macOS?

For discussion of the Voltage Modular synthesis ecosystem.
boonier

Is midi clock sync output broken on macOS?

Post by boonier »

I've tried on two different machines, but I get no output when connecting the Sync to midi clock to Midi output. I can confirm on Midi Monitor app that there are no clock messages - other apps sending messages fine. Note on/off messages from VM work fine too.

Is it broken? It must be user error!

VM v2.5.5
boonier

Re: Is midi clock sync output broken on macOS?

Post by boonier »

Ok on further testing, the Sync to midi clock module is working fine - tested by inserting plugin host, hosting Bidule, and using monitoring tools in that.

The issue seems to be Midi Output module. Does it strip midi clock messages?
Steve W

Post by Steve W »

I have never used the Sync To Midi Clock module before. Just tested what you are doing. Using Andrew Macaulay's midi display module, the midi out of the Sync to Midi Clock module does send start, stop, and clock data within VM. But I cannot get the data to go to an external device using the Midi Out module. (I'm using Windows 10, but that shouldn't matter.)
Last edited by Steve W on Thu Jun 02, 2022 11:42 am, edited 3 times in total.
boonier

Post by boonier »

Phew, glad it's not just me. Thanks for testing.

This sounds like a bug then?
Steve W

Post by Steve W »

It would certainly bug me! Not sure why it doesn't send midi timing messages or if there's a work around. I couldn't find one. Maybe someone else has a work around or a module that sends out midi data including timing bytes.
ColinP

Post by ColinP »

I just did a quick test and I seem to have the same problem (WIndows 10).