Note played won't stop

For discussion of the Voltage Modular synthesis ecosystem.
mojorisin

Note played won't stop

Post by mojorisin »

I am very new to modular synths but I was following the tutorial from Venus Theory here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jk7cJ3EmrCs

I have exactly the setup but when I click a note on my midi keyboard, it plays a sound, but it never stops. It will play a new note, but it doesn't stop playing something. This is different from what he is showing and I am not sure what I am doing wrong.
huggermugger

Re: Note played won't stop

Post by huggermugger »

You should post an image of your patch. There can be a few reasons for the problem.
mojorisin

Post by mojorisin »

Absolutely... I used to be a support engineer, I should know better ;)

I was going to attach a video but the forum doesn't allow for it. I can host it if needed. Let me know.

also:
  • Windows 11
  • Audio is a Presonus Audiobox 96 USB (ASIO), but I also tried it on Windows Audio with same result
  • Ryzen 7 2700x, 16gb RAM, Radeon RX580
ColinP

Post by ColinP »

On the Amplifier module turn down the GAIN knob to its minimum setting.

This seems to trip lots of people up. The knob should be labelled DEPTH and work in the opposite direction then it wouldn't be so confusing.
mojorisin

Post by mojorisin »

Awesome... thanks so much for this response. It is indeed working as expected now. I need to review the tutorial as I am almost certain the gain was turned up by instruction there.
Anyway, thanks again for the help. Much appreciated.
ColinP wrote: Mon Apr 18, 2022 1:41 pm On the Amplifier module turn down the GAIN knob to its minimum setting.

This seems to trip lots of people up. The knob should be labelled DEPTH and work in the opposite direction then it wouldn't be so confusing.
david_black_uk

Post by david_black_uk »

Thanks colin p. this was driving me nuts too. The gain was at 2.0% and so looked off!
MRBarton

Post by MRBarton »

Tiny correction to a comment.