Scripting error

JackOats

Scripting error

Post by JackOats »

Hi - I'm trying to create the Volume Knob given as an example in MD.

I've followed the written tutorial & double checked it several times but it isn't compiling.

I'm new to scripting in Java so, after moving/deleting & generally becoming more bewildered I have to admit I don't know what adjustments to make to the script to make it work.

Pathetic, I know, but any help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks.
Attachments
SCRIPTINGerror.Screenshot 2019-05-21 at 11.26.15.png
SCRIPTINGerror.Screenshot 2019-05-21 at 11.26.15.png (24.03 KiB) Viewed 11116 times
Scripting.Screenshot 2019-05-21 at 11.25.43.png
Scripting.Screenshot 2019-05-21 at 11.25.43.png (157.48 KiB) Viewed 11116 times
iMac 27/Catalina/3.5 GBh Intel Core i7/16 GB Ram/3 TB HD
The masculine includes the feminine (Guys)
Google: 'JackOats' to see my Soundcloud page, 'Brian Watterson - Vimeo' for my Videos.
terrymcg

Re: Scripting error

Post by terrymcg »

Hi JackOats...
JackOats wrote: Tue May 21, 2019 10:48 am I'm new to scripting in Java so, after moving/deleting & generally becoming more bewildered I have to admit I don't know what adjustments to make to the script to make it work.

Pathetic, I know, but any help would be much appreciated.
We all have to start somewhere... don't worry, it'll get clearer as you go along! ;)

My guess, and I'm not a Java guru, is the variable declaration isn't allowed there 'cause it will only exist in the context of the if statement. Consider this:

Code: Select all

boolean foo = true;
 if (foo)
   double bar = 1.0;

Log ("bar = " + bar);

What the compiler sees is this:

boolean foo = true;
  if (foo) {
      double bar = 1.0;
  }  
  Log ("bar = " + bar);

So it's objecting to the creation of a variable that's going to get thrown away as soon as it's set.

This, on the otherhand, compiles:

boolean foo = true;
  if (foo) {
      double bar = 1.0;

Log ("bar = " + bar);
  }

I hope that helps!

Cheers,
--