Including presets with a module/bundle

Post Reply
User avatar
AndyMac
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:16 pm
Location: Wirral UK
Contact:

Sun Feb 24, 2019 4:15 pm

Is there an easy way to include presets (which I am using to provide some hints/tips on the use of modules) with a module or, specifically in my case, a bundle? It would be really useful to be able to automatically add these in a specific manufacturers category to the existing presets, and to maintain them as they get added to/updated.

As another suggestion around documentation, could the facility be added to the module definitions together with manufacturer's dashboard to have help text made available on the right-click on modules as well as the "info..." option - and allow URLs to be clickable in both.
Andrew Macaulay
Cherry Garcia
Site Admin
Posts: 250
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:57 am

Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:40 pm

AndyMac,

You can create a new product and change the type to preset. Then zip up the presets in their folder(s). So that the zipped up folder structure is like this >

file.zip > sub dir 1 > preset 1.voltagepreset
-----------------------------> preset 2.voltagepreset
-----------------------------> preset 3.voltagepreset
-----------> sub dir 2 > preset 1.voltagepreset
-----------------------------> preset 2.voltagepreset

Add this .zip file to the file section of the product. Then save it and add it to the bundle, you'd like. Let us know and we'll publish it. Then, if you add new presets, update the zip file, upload it and it will create a new build. Everyone who has the bundle will get the updated presets.
User avatar
AndyMac
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:16 pm
Location: Wirral UK
Contact:

Mon Feb 25, 2019 8:57 pm

Thanks - I though that there must be a way :-)
Andrew Macaulay
User avatar
AndyMac
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:16 pm
Location: Wirral UK
Contact:

Tue Feb 26, 2019 7:25 pm

Cherry Garcia wrote:
Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:40 pm
AndyMac,

You can create a new product and change the type to preset. Then zip up the presets in their folder(s). So that the zipped up folder structure is like this >

file.zip > sub dir 1 > preset 1.voltagepreset
-----------------------------> preset 2.voltagepreset
-----------------------------> preset 3.voltagepreset
-----------> sub dir 2 > preset 1.voltagepreset
-----------------------------> preset 2.voltagepreset

Add this .zip file to the file section of the product. Then save it and add it to the bundle, you'd like. Let us know and we'll publish it. Then, if you add new presets, update the zip file, upload it and it will create a new build. Everyone who has the bundle will get the updated presets.
So with this structure, where do the presets land up for a user? is the sub dir 1, sub dir 2, … the top level or is the filename used to provide the top-level.

It would make sense for me to have the presets in one of the following structures (unless you have any specific guidance on how presets should be laid out):
\Andrew Macaulay Presets\Tutorials - <collection or category>\<presets>
\Andrew Macaulay Tutorials\<collection or category>\<presets>

Also, is it not possible to simply add the above file to the collection directly?
Andrew Macaulay
Post Reply