[BUG?] debug private/subclasses / InputJack.SetEnabled

Post Reply
NothanUmber
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 9:06 pm

Sun Dec 02, 2018 8:33 pm

Some odd behavior:
* When creating a protected class (in the "add your inputs here" section) then the debugger seems to ignore all breakpoints (no matter whether defined in the module class or the protected utility class)
* When creating a private subclass (in the "Add your own variables and functions here" section) then the debugger doesn't seem to be able to step into methods of this subclass (nor hold at breakpoints in methods of this class). It works with methods of the main module class though

* SetEnabled doesn't seem to work (the way I would expect) for input jacks: My expectation would be that it greyes out the jack and forbids connecting to it. This doesn't seem to happen though - it is still shown normal and wires can be connected. My current workaround is to use SetVisible(false) when a jack is not supposed to be used. This works, just greying out would be nicer though, so the user doesn't wonder about empty space that is only filled with jacks in certain states.

Tested on Win10 64 bit, Module Designer 1.0.9
CherryRuss
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:29 pm

Mon Dec 03, 2018 3:39 am

We're still sorting out a couple issues with breakpoints, but the ones you describe (being able to set breakpoints or step into code in subclasses of the main module class) should be fixed in version 1.1, which will be out sometime this coming week if we don't run into any issues during testing.

I'm able to reproduce the problem with disabled jacks; thanks for catching that. It's too late to fix that for 1.1, but we should be able to take care of it for the next build after that.
CherryRuss
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:29 pm

Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:53 pm

After some more testing, it looks like breakpoints in child classes can still fail in version 1.1 if the class first gets instantiated in the process-sample thread instead of the GUI thread. It appears to be related to the class loader. We're working on it.
CherryRuss
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:29 pm

Fri Dec 07, 2018 4:29 am

Version 1.1.1 is out, and it should fix the problems with manually disabled jacks. We're still working on the problem with setting breakpoints in subclasses that were initially instantiated in the sample-processing thread, and you may also have problems removing breakpoints in subclasses while the debugger is running. The latter has been fixed for 1.1.2, but for now, you can work around it by using the "Delete All Breakpoints" option on the Debug menu. Thanks for your patience!
Post Reply