Why a unique package name per module?

Post Reply
jgillmanjr
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:14 am

Why a unique package name per module?

Post by jgillmanjr » Sun Apr 11, 2021 5:21 pm

Greetings!

The programmer's guide mentions that the package name should be unique per module, and I'm just curious what the reason is for this?

Admittedly I'm fresh to java (my background is in python), but it seems that unique package names wouldn't be required since modules are wrapped up into individual classes extending VoltageModule.

Thanks for any insight!

-Jason
A data engineer and pilot that occasionally makes sounds suitable for public consumption.

I've started making modules too!

creart
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 12:13 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why a unique package name per module?

Post by creart » Mon Apr 12, 2021 1:21 pm

I assume it's a matter of having unique identifiers for every single package, just as a new class needs a unique name?

jgillmanjr
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:14 am

Re: Why a unique package name per module?

Post by jgillmanjr » Tue Apr 13, 2021 12:38 am

But if the module's class name is unique, wouldn't that mitigate the need for a different package/namespace name per module?
A data engineer and pilot that occasionally makes sounds suitable for public consumption.

I've started making modules too!

creart
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 12:13 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why a unique package name per module?

Post by creart » Tue Apr 13, 2021 5:04 am

I don’t know.. it might have to do with how Cherry works with those modules.. all modules are uploaded to their server and transformed into optimized code (at least that’s what I understand).. so maybe they need the uniqye packages for that.. after all the package name is tested once you run it in VMD, when it exists you get a message..

jgillmanjr
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:14 am

Re: Why a unique package name per module?

Post by jgillmanjr » Thu Apr 15, 2021 4:21 pm

Well, I think I found my answer.

It looks like the product is based on that. As a result, the demo volume module I built and the module I'm currently working on show as the same product, but just different builds.

This seems wonky, but I can at least understand why the different package names are needed.
A data engineer and pilot that occasionally makes sounds suitable for public consumption.

I've started making modules too!

Steve W
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Re: Why a unique package name per module?

Post by Steve W » Thu Apr 15, 2021 5:37 pm

jgillmanjr wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 4:21 pm
It looks like the product is based on that.
that (above) = this (below)?
creart wrote:
Tue Apr 13, 2021 5:04 am
. . . all modules are uploaded to their server and transformed into optimized code . . .
Just curious. Trying to follow your thread in case I ever want to get into coding modules.

jgillmanjr
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:14 am

Re: Why a unique package name per module?

Post by jgillmanjr » Thu Apr 15, 2021 6:41 pm

Steve,

To clarify, it appears as though the package name is what's used to identify the product in the developer dashboard.

So for example, before I changed the package names of the tutorial volume module and the other one I'm working on, both apparently fell under the same product, but as different builds as seen below.

Image

Image

Image

But now that I gave them their own package names

Image


Hope that helps!
A data engineer and pilot that occasionally makes sounds suitable for public consumption.

I've started making modules too!

Steve W
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Re: Why a unique package name per module?

Post by Steve W » Thu Apr 15, 2021 11:18 pm

jgillmanjr wrote:
Thu Apr 15, 2021 6:41 pm
Hope that helps!
Yes, I now understand. Thanks for taking the time to clarify with the images and an explanation of the differences.

Post Reply