MRB Module Dirt

Post Reply
Manix24
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:31 pm

Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:49 am

Hi,

I recently bought the MRB Bundle (Very Good) and ave a Problem with all of their Dirt Modules, when I dial in Dirt it starts to crackle, is it the Dirt Sound, or is it a fault :o) Not kidding, it must be a fault also in their standalone Voice Units Dirt is unusable
I'm on Win10 Fat CPU Standalone
Thank you for support

Manix
MRBarton
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 7:11 pm

Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:32 pm

Hi Manix,

This is the first I am hearing of this problem. I've been using the Dirt module in many patches for quite a while now. Let's see if we can get to the bottom of this, and if we find a bug, I'll issue a fix right away.

Is the crackling a constant thing? That is, does it crackle all the time even with no sound? Try this: Patch a silent signal (like from a mixer with everything turned down) into the Dirt input. Do you still hear crackling? Does it in fact crackle in the Voice modules too? Any further information would be helpful along with a patch example where the problem occurs. Email it to me at

mark @ mrbmodules.com

Thanks for the feedback and I'm glad you're enjoying the MRB modules.

--Mark
Manix24
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:31 pm

Sat Sep 07, 2019 12:47 am

No it crackels when you play, and the module is patched,
rene
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:08 pm
Location: Holland

Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:39 pm

I have the same experience with the dirt module. I crackles when patched even in a basic set up. The rest of te MRB stuff is amazingly good
MRBarton
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 7:11 pm

Sun Sep 08, 2019 4:37 am

All right, I'm on it. If somebody can send me a patch where this happens, that would be great. I have yet to hear the crackling in anything I have done. I'll try to cure this problem right away, but I have to be able to reproduce it. Please send patch to:

mark @ mrbmodules.com

Thanks for the kind words on the rest of the bundle. You'll like the Dirt module too (once it's fixed!)

thanks,
--Mark
rene
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:08 pm
Location: Holland

Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:03 am

Hi Mark The patch is in your mail box
MRBarton
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 7:11 pm

Tue Sep 10, 2019 6:42 am

BUG FOUND AND SQUASHED.

There was definitely a coding error and after changing a -1 to a -2, everything is fine and the crackling is gone. Please pack your Dirt modules well and send them to me post paid and I will replace the faulty components and get them back to you as soon as......oh wait, it's software. In that case it will magically appear in your library in a day or so! You will get new versions of the 4 affected modules. I guess I can turn off my soldering iron.

Thanks to Manix and Rene for calling this to my attention.

--Mark
rene
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 1:08 pm
Location: Holland

Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:10 pm

Thumbs up for Mark and his quick response and his wonderul modules
MRBarton
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 7:11 pm

Sat Sep 21, 2019 8:58 pm

The 4 modules with the (now bug fixed) Dirt algorithm in them:

Laboratory Dirt
poly Laboratory Dirt
Laboratory Voice
Laboratory Semi-Modular Voice

have been re-published. They should load automatically the next time you hot up Voltage. The Semi-Modular Voice also had a bug in the sync function which is now also fixed. Everything should be great now, and I hope everyone will let me know if it isn't.

Enjoy,
--Mark
Manix24
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 9:31 pm

Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:11 pm

Mucho Thanks from Germany

Manix
Post Reply