[Feature Request] - Add "to host" option for MIDI Output module

Post Reply
lalo
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:08 am

[Feature Request] - Add "to host" option for MIDI Output module

Post by lalo » Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:54 pm

In the output list of the MIDI Output module a "to host" option would be great to use all the sequencing features of VM inside the DAW.

cherryMitch
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:26 am

Re: [Feature Request] - Add "to host" option for MIDI Output module

Post by cherryMitch » Thu Aug 30, 2018 12:40 am

Yeah, that's an interesting idea. You can send Voltage Modular signals to external MIDI hardware devices, but I don't know if there's a way to get it to a DAW directly... I will inquire with the think tank!

User avatar
Hedgemunkees
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: [Feature Request] - Add "to host" option for MIDI Output module

Post by Hedgemunkees » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:32 am

Eurorack integration?

lalo
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:08 am

Re: [Feature Request] - Add "to host" option for MIDI Output module

Post by lalo » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:08 am

Hedgemunkees wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:32 am
Eurorack integration?
What do you mean? I'm talkin' about routing MIDI signal from VM to the DAW in wich VM is loaded as a plugin. Probably is possible via a MIDI virtual cable but is quite a "complex" and unsure way. As for eurorack integration i guess simply routing the audio out of VM to the audio card out (dc coupled) than the signal can be used in a eurorack 0-10V standard or - 5/+5V

cherryMitch
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:26 am

Re: [Feature Request] - Add "to host" option for MIDI Output module

Post by cherryMitch » Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:53 pm

lalo wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:08 am
Hedgemunkees wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:32 am
Eurorack integration?
As for eurorack integration i guess simply routing the audio out of VM to the audio card out (dc coupled) than the signal can be used in a eurorack 0-10V standard or - 5/+5V
Yeah, I haven't even tried that yet, but I really should (I already use Silent Way with my modular+MOTU 2408 setup).

lalo
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2018 10:08 am

Re: [Feature Request] - Add "to host" option for MIDI Output module

Post by lalo » Thu Aug 30, 2018 6:25 pm

cherryMitch wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:53 pm
lalo wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:08 am
Hedgemunkees wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:32 am
Eurorack integration?
As for eurorack integration i guess simply routing the audio out of VM to the audio card out (dc coupled) than the signal can be used in a eurorack 0-10V standard or - 5/+5V
Yeah, I haven't even tried that yet, but I really should (I already use Silent Way with my modular+MOTU 2408 setup).
yeah...VM is just at its start...and the future seems bright! :D

Post Reply