Do you have to sign in and download EVERY TIME???

For discussion of the Voltage Modular synthesis ecosystem.
FaveDave

Do you have to sign in and download EVERY TIME???

Post by FaveDave »

I am a brand new user. Using Logic.

I opened Voltage Modular. It asked me to freaking sign in. ???? I did. It started downloading and I couldn't play any sounds until it finished.

OK, maybe it didn't finish installing,

I closed VM. I opened another instrument. (I bought a ton of them) Same thing. Sign in. Download.

I closed that instrument.

I opened VM again. IT WANTS ME TO SIGN IN AGAIN AND STARTED DOWNLOADING EVERYTHING AGAIN.

Is this a cruel joke? Is this how it is supposed to operate? I do the same thing a few times to make sure.

HOLY CRAP. If this is how it's designed then I am not a customer. I'm a professional and I need to work, not sign in an infinite number of times and wait for downloads. If this is how it is, then this is for hobbyists. Professionals like me on a deadline will have steam coming out of their ears very quickly.

I sure hope this is user error and I am just doing something wrong... please.
UrbanCyborg

Re: Do you have to sign in and download EVERY TIME???

Post by UrbanCyborg »

The first time you run any of the apps after installing it, it will attach to the server and finish downloading what it needs to complete the installation. As for any time after that, I don't think it's required, although if you have your settings in the app set to automatically install updates, it may find a new update and install it. Other than that, I don't think you even need a net connection. Bear in mind that I'm new with these apps, too, but that seems to be my experience.
Cyberwerks Heavy Industries -- viewforum.php?f=76
FaveDave

Post by FaveDave »

It is not behaving that way for me. Makes me sign in and download Every. Single. Time. Then is crashes the host.

Logic, Cubase, Luna == it crashed them all multiple times. (Yes I reboot.)
FaveDave

Post by FaveDave »