Newbie on Cables

For discussion of the Voltage Modular synthesis ecosystem.
anonyrat

Newbie on Cables

Post by anonyrat »

Trying really hard to get my head around patching different modules, using presets I am getting there very slowly. One observation so far is cabling.
Now I read the post about using (or NOT using) the shift key to move multi cables and I understand that.

Let us say there are 3 sockets, A, B and C

I want to patch A to B - so I click on A and drag to B
Now I want to add A to C - so I click on A and this opens up the Smith and Wesson bullet holder. I click on a bullet hole (you can tell I am a newbie) and drag a second cable to C [what a pain this is]

Now some might say well you can drag a cable from C to A but the elephant is still in the room IF C has a pre-existing cable.
This problem is exacerbated if C (or B) is off the screen view. Maybe you 'ol timers don't think about it much but coming at it fresh, what I feel like I want to do is: Hold ALT and click on A and just drag a cable to C

It would IMHO be easy to ALT-CLICK and drag a cable from a socket no matter how many are all ready instantiated.
Hold SHIFT-CLICK to move a socket full of cables
Then the only time the bullet holder would be needed is to disconnect a particular cable.

NOW, having written all this I can see an easier method - clicking on a socket doesn't open the bullet holder - It just acts normally and allows you to just drag a cable out. Then use the ALT-CLICK to open the bullet holder to disconnect a cable. Hold SHIFT-CLICK to move a socket full of cables Sorted !
Cherry Dan
Site Admin

Re: Newbie on Cables

Post by Cherry Dan »

There are all sorts of handy functions to make cabling easier. One that you'll find very helpful is the CTRL or CMD key. (CTRL in Windows, CMD on Mac)