How to send Poly CV to plugin host

For discussion of the Voltage Modular synthesis ecosystem.
g~tilde

How to send Poly CV to plugin host

Post by g~tilde »

Hello everyone

I am a noob to VM and have a, it seems, relatively easy quest. I am trying to send, in this example, two CV sequential lines and that ultimately goes into plug-host. The instrument that is loaded is a polyphonic instrument.

As you can see from the screen grab, I am using the poly quantizer. It could be I don't totally get the poly in VM yet or I am misusing something, or, there is something obv missing - I am not getting it. To me, there should be a way to do this very simple concept. I am prolly missing a lot here! :lol:

I want to be able to send the CV seq into one instance of the plugin host. I need CV to MIDI into the plug-in host. CV to MIDI is not polyphonic. I cannot find an equivalent by searching. It seems to me, even for the Gate information, its the CV to MIDI is the holdup, and possibly the plugin host? ?

....any and all guidance will be appreciated! Cheers, g~
Attachments
2.jpg
2.jpg (443.44 KiB) Viewed 2287 times
Rockky

Re: How to send Poly CV to plugin host

Post by Rockky »

The only way until recently was to combine mono CV to MIDI signals - use multiple CV to MIDI modules feeding into the same MIDI input port of the plugin host. If you had a poly source you'd have to SPLIT it into mono CV first then use the multiple modules into one trick.

Alternatively and a much nicer solution which enables passing poly source straight into MIDI check out this module Turbofan Propstart - Poly CV To MIDI
https://store.cherryaudio.com/modules/poly-cv-to-midi
only $5 at the moment#

BUT, in your example patch the simple solution would be to remove one of the plugin hosts and just feed both MIDI signals into it - as I said the input can take multiple inputs.
tgrey

Post by tgrey »

I'll second that! Poly CV To MIDI is a great module to simplify this.