Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

For discussion of the Voltage Modular synthesis ecosystem.
Post Reply
wavemechanic
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:14 am

Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by wavemechanic » Mon Mar 22, 2021 6:43 pm

If not, please consider this a feature request: a toggle button to show the CPU hit of each module.

andro
Posts: 144
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:45 am

Re: Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by andro » Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:03 am

As per VCV Rack.

User avatar
xuoham
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:30 am
Location: Okinawa, Japan / Paris, France

Re: Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by xuoham » Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:34 am

+1 ! :idea:

wavemechanic
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:14 am

Re: Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by wavemechanic » Tue Mar 23, 2021 1:17 pm

At this point, I regret complaining about not having a native 96k version of VM. I was worried about aliasing detracting from the "analog" sound. The truth is, VM sounds incredible. And I'm grateful for the 48k internal rate, since my first major effort to design a synth resulted in one that uses 80% of my CPU. :o Now, if I could just see how much CPU each module uses, I could quickly figure out what I should sacrifice for better performance.

Ian Craig
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:06 pm

Re: Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by Ian Craig » Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:05 pm

xuoham wrote:
Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:34 am
+1 ! :idea:

+1
Incidentally, I've just noticed that the idea sign is an idea sign :idea: I thought it was another surprised sign :o but with a single eye, like an annoyed cyclops. I didn't think it was a light bulb in a sea of facial expressions :lol:
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (Audio Interface)
Mixcraft 7,8 (& sometimes 9) Pro Studio

User avatar
xuoham
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2019 10:30 am
Location: Okinawa, Japan / Paris, France

Re: Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by xuoham » Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:59 pm

lol, Ian :!: Too much THC ? :mrgreen:

wavemechanic
Posts: 124
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 5:14 am

Re: Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by wavemechanic » Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:01 pm

Ian Craig wrote:
Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:05 pm
xuoham wrote:
Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:34 am
+1 ! :idea:

+1
Incidentally, I've just noticed that the idea sign is an idea sign :idea: I thought it was another surprised sign :o but with a single eye, like an annoyed cyclops. I didn't think it was a light bulb in a sea of facial expressions :lol:
+1 to your +1 of a +1... thoroughly enjoyed this reply. :)

Ian Craig
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:06 pm

Re: Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by Ian Craig » Wed Mar 31, 2021 5:09 pm

xuoham wrote:
Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:59 pm
lol, Ian :!: Too much THC ? :mrgreen:

The designers are the ones who've taken too much THC I suggest, not me (since the 1980's anyway) :lol:
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (Audio Interface)
Mixcraft 7,8 (& sometimes 9) Pro Studio

Ian Craig
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:06 pm

Re: Is there any way to see the CPU hit of each module?

Post by Ian Craig » Wed Mar 31, 2021 5:12 pm

wavemechanic wrote:
Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:01 pm
Ian Craig wrote:
Tue Mar 30, 2021 5:05 pm
xuoham wrote:
Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:34 am
+1 ! :idea:

+1
Incidentally, I've just noticed that the idea sign is an idea sign :idea: I thought it was another surprised sign :o but with a single eye, like an annoyed cyclops. I didn't think it was a light bulb in a sea of facial expressions :lol:
+1 to your +1 of a +1... thoroughly enjoyed this reply. :)
Too many eyes, now there's an idea, aye
cyclops.jpg
cyclops.jpg (11.19 KiB) Viewed 237 times
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (Audio Interface)
Mixcraft 7,8 (& sometimes 9) Pro Studio

Post Reply