How to "hold" incoming MIDI notes?

For discussion of the Voltage Modular synthesis ecosystem.
darkness

How to "hold" incoming MIDI notes?

Post by darkness »

I'm fairly new to VM and modular systems, so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.

The title says it, I'm looking for a way to hold the notes I'm playing on my MIDI keyboard (especially when running VM standalone).
Pretty much the same thing like the "Hold" button of an Arpeggiator. Is there a module or any other way to achieve this?

It's just annoying having to constantly hold down a chord on the keyboard with one hand...
I'm hoping that I'm stupid enough to overlook something very simple ;)

thx
schoekah

Re: How to "hold" incoming MIDI notes?

Post by schoekah »

I'd check some of the bundles to see what kind of MIDI utilities are on offer (macaulay? bernard?), but you may be able to make something using "poly MIDI in" (from cherry audio) to "poly to mono" (cherry) to "sample and hold" connected to each p2m cv out. each s&H being triggered by the cv sources/gate at the top of the program (or "pm in", if you want)
cheers!
darkness

Post by darkness »

Thanks for your response.
I tried with all combinations of the modules you suggested, but no success.
Here's a screenshot of just one example I've tested with:

I've tried many more variations and different cabling. It's either not holding the notes, or holding some kind of "output" with actually no sound (just shows a level on the main out). What do you mean with "pm in"?

Meanwhile I got this module which could've been a workaround/solution, but this seems to be a bit buggy unfortunately.

I'm surprised that something like a "MIDI hold" module doesn't exist (at least I can't find one). Would be handy i.e. for evolving pad sounds, when you're only playing a chord here and there. Right now one hand is always tied up to the keyboard and that, well... sux.