Artefacts sounding like a Bit Crusher

nkf
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:52 pm

Re: Artefacts sounding like a Bit Crusher

Post by nkf » Wed Oct 20, 2021 6:05 pm

cherryaudio Greg wrote:
Wed Oct 20, 2021 5:26 pm
Hi,

I don't disbelieve you, I'm just trying to nail down some specific parameters for the problem. As I mentioned in my previous post, we need some specifics. Can you make us a preset that illustrates the problem and post it here or send it in as a support ticket? This would give me something specific for the software developers to look at.

Greg
As I wrote a preset can't do it - it doesn't matter, because it has to do with knob movement, no matter if the DAW (Nuendo 11) is running or not. Just use the settings I showed in a screenshot here. Is that too difficult to dial in roughly two parameter settings and flipping a switch and then twist the knobs as described several times here? If you think that is NOT specific enough, I give up - this is an unproductive behaviour from your side.
I'm getting angry how this thread now develops. You have way enough info now. Maybe you haven't read closely enough.

User avatar
cherryaudio Greg
Site Admin
Posts: 591
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 5:06 pm

Re: Artefacts sounding like a Bit Crusher

Post by cherryaudio Greg » Wed Oct 20, 2021 8:46 pm

Hi,

But the settings do matter? Did you say it didn't happen if you just select New? Or if you click New (resetting to the default settings), can you get it to happen?

The screenshot seems to show basically the New state, with Sync turned on, Direct Signal and Reverb off, Repeat Rate and Intensity turned up.

Are those changes necessary to reproduce the problem? Does Sync have to be turned on? Does Direct Signal have to turned off?

If you can reproduce it after clicking New, would we reproduce it by just turning up Repeat Rate all the way, or do you also have to increase Intensity?

Thanks for your patience!



Greg

nkf
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:52 pm

Re: Artefacts sounding like a Bit Crusher

Post by nkf » Wed Oct 20, 2021 9:33 pm

cherryaudio Greg wrote:
Wed Oct 20, 2021 8:46 pm
Hi,

But the settings do matter? Did you say it didn't happen if you just select New? Or if you click New (resetting to the default settings), can you get it to happen?

The screenshot seems to show basically the New state, with Sync turned on, Direct Signal and Reverb off, Repeat Rate and Intensity turned up.

Are those changes necessary to reproduce the problem? Does Sync have to be turned on? Does Direct Signal have to turned off?

If you can reproduce it after clicking New, would we reproduce it by just turning up Repeat Rate all the way, or do you also have to increase Intensity?

Thanks for your patience!



Greg
I'm, now sure you haven't read my descriptions (carefully)! You cause unnecessary work for us here. May be you read it this time carefully enough!?
I'm not a native English speaker, but I know my English isn't that bad, that I couldn't make clear how to proceed. It is now my last post for this topic, it is getting absurd here. I explained in this thread:
"You can use any preset! The problem is not baken into a preset setting! It is all about playing audio into the input, raise "Intensity" to have some feedback and speed up and down the delay times. If you do it several times and then lengthen the delay time (bring "Repeat Time" to the counter left!) just listen to the result ...
There is your "devil"! Was it clearer now?"
"It doesn't matter if you choose a new preset, recall one or whatever. When the problematic parameters are chosen the problems begin.
Use Nuendo 11 (Mac or PC), the VST3 of StarDust 201 is loaded and dial in the settings in my screenshot. Play some notes of VSTi or alike, make it clear, simple sounds. Let the feedback roll - now quickly< turn Repeat Rate to the left to the longest rate, bam! nice bit crusher sounds.
It is 100% repeatable in N11. In WaveLab I was NOT able to reproduce it. You have to use Nuendo 11 - newest release 11.0.40.
Don't use other hosts to replicate this problem."
"As I wrote a preset can't do it - it doesn't matter, because it has to do with knob movement, no matter if the DAW (Nuendo 11) is running or not. Just use the settings I showed in a screenshot here. Is that too difficult to dial in roughly two parameter settings and flipping a switch and then twist the knobs as described several times here?"

User avatar
cherryaudio Greg
Site Admin
Posts: 591
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 5:06 pm

Re: Artefacts sounding like a Bit Crusher

Post by cherryaudio Greg » Wed Oct 20, 2021 9:39 pm

Hi,

It would help if you could directly answer my questions. I take it from what you just posted, that I could do the following and hear the problem?

1. Use VST3 in Nuendo.
2. Click New to set the default preset.
3. Turn up Intensity and Repeat Rate.

Is that correct, or is there more to it? If you try that right now, do you hear the problem?

Or do I have to recreate your screenshot with the other settings?

Does it only happen with VST3? Does it happen with VST?

Greg

Post Reply