Harmony Module

Post Reply
Steve W
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Harmony Module

Post by Steve W » Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:46 am

I am very intrigued by the potential uses of your Harmony Module. One thing I cannot figure out how to do is use a control voltage to select what I think you call Chord Sets (A, B, C, . . . L). I see the previous and next buttons, but I want to be able to choose specific chord structures (A -> L) not step through them to get to the one I want. I did see that I could assign each to a midi note using midi learn, but I'd rather not have to use a number of modules to do the work.

I tried using one of the 4 multipurpose CV inputs on the right but none of those modes changed what I think you are calling the chord sets. I thought the chord set CV target would do it as per: "CHORD SET - Change chordset (will only use active chord sets)" but it didn't. "The selected chord is green, active chords are grey, inactive chords are red."

Is there a way to do what I want? Am I missing something obvious? Is the chord set target supposed to work the way I want? If there is no way at present, can you add a CV target that would do this?

I have been test driving it and I really want to be able to use it. I really like the flexibility you have built into it. Thanks.

Steve W
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Re: Harmony Module

Post by Steve W » Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:27 pm

It might be that CVs can be used to select the A --> L chord structures, but the panel does not visually reflect the changes like the Next and Previous buttons do. I think I saw something like that happening last night, but haven't explored it further. If its just a display issue, could it be changed to reflect CV changes to the chord structures? Thanks.

Steve W
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Re: Harmony Module

Post by Steve W » Fri Mar 26, 2021 11:39 pm

Steve W wrote:
Fri Mar 26, 2021 2:27 pm
I think I saw something like that happening last night, but haven't explored it further. If its just a display issue, could it be changed to reflect CV changes to the chord structures? Thanks.
Just tested this with an 8-step sequencer providing CV to the Chord Set [CHD] input with A -> G (root, root + 3, root + 3 +5, etc.) plus a few variations. In all cases the CV -> CHD did indeed change the active chord structure without displaying the changes in either the structure section or the selection section. This is different than the display behaviors for the Next and Previous CV inputs.

Could this be fixed?

Steve W
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Re: Harmony Module

Post by Steve W » Sat Mar 27, 2021 12:17 am

Example attached. Note how CV can be used to select the chord structure macros but the harmonic structures themselves and the macros (here, buttons A --> G) do not change unlike the CV inputs for previous and next.
Attachments
Harmony Tutorial 2 - Chords - tweak - 001a.voltagepreset
(43.88 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

flucatcher
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:51 am

Re: Harmony Module

Post by flucatcher » Sat Mar 27, 2021 11:15 am

Hey, yes, you are right. CV of chord set does not affect the UI. I actually had that on my todo list but skipped implementing it because I was seriously tired of the module.

I have work on another module I want to finish first, after that I will go back to Harmony to fix a few issues with it. For this particular feature I will not select select the chord set with CV (that means that you will edit the chordset you have manually selected), will need to highlight the button of the chordset being played in some other way.

Thanks for reporting the bug!

Post Reply