Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post Reply
tgrey
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 8:39 pm

Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by tgrey » Tue Jun 08, 2021 11:44 am

It looks like the NLC dividers in 4seq and Divine CMOS are dividing wrong. They're labelled as 2/4/8/16, but they seem to be operating at 4/8/16/32.

Here's a screenshot of an example patch comparing them against Cherry Audio's clock dividers:
Attachments
ClockDivs.png
ClockDivs.png (399.75 KiB) Viewed 1108 times

Steve W
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Re: Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by Steve W » Tue Jun 08, 2021 11:26 pm

tgrey wrote:
Tue Jun 08, 2021 11:44 am
It looks like the NLC dividers in 4seq and Divine CMOS are dividing wrong. They're labelled as 2/4/8/16, but they seem to be operating at 4/8/16/32.
I got a similar discrepancy with 4seq using a preset with a pair of manual buttons ("Click" and "Reset"). The Click button goes to a Burst module set up so one Click triggers 32 simulated clock pulses. Also, I set up a fifth Dual Counter to show the number of times "Click" was pressed and the number pulses sent from the Burst module to both the 4seq and the CA dividers.

Thanks for your test; I had fun creating my version of the test.

Counters-001b.png
Counters-001b.png (153.08 KiB) Viewed 1094 times

Steve W
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Re: Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by Steve W » Wed Jun 09, 2021 1:21 am

Counters-001b-CV.png
Counters-001b-CV.png (33.55 KiB) Viewed 1092 times

tgrey
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 8:39 pm

Re: Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by tgrey » Mon Sep 13, 2021 11:32 pm

The good news is it looks like this got fixed in Div Cmo, but 4Seq still exhibits this bug.
Retest_9.13.21.jpg
Retest_9.13.21.jpg (161.38 KiB) Viewed 886 times

Steve W
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2020 5:55 pm

Re: Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by Steve W » Tue Sep 14, 2021 3:16 am

I get the same results as you. Divine Cosmos has been fixed! :-) 4 Step Sequencer hasn't. :-(

trickyflemming
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2021 3:45 pm

Re: Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by trickyflemming » Tue Sep 14, 2021 6:58 pm

Hey! Sorry I don't check this forum as often as I should. I just patched 4Seq and sent it in for approval.

tgrey
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 8:39 pm

Re: Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by tgrey » Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:04 pm

It's all good. Since the dividers are kind of a "bonus" section to the modules, it wasn't affecting the important parts anyway. Honestly, I was even making good use of the extra long 32 divider as it was, but Divide & Conquer will more than fill that need.

Thanks for pushing through a fix! I'll confirm everything is good once it hits the streets.

trickyflemming
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2021 3:45 pm

Re: Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by trickyflemming » Wed Sep 22, 2021 7:42 pm

4Seq patch is now out, so that should be all of the affected modules!

tgrey
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2021 8:39 pm

Re: Nonlinear Circuits Dividers incorrect?

Post by tgrey » Wed Sep 22, 2021 8:03 pm

Confirmed on both counts... got the new update, and it appears to be working perfectly. Thanks a bunch for checking in on it!

Post Reply